Mauritshuis - The Building
27 June 2014 - 4 January 2015.
The opening exhibition Mauritshuis - the building was the moment to share the background of our building with our visitors. The exhibition looked back at the rich history of the Mauritshuis and the illustrious residents and people who used the premises.
The Mauritshuis has been an icon of The Hague on the Hofvijver since 1644 and is one of the most famous Dutch classicist buildings. Together with the Royal Dam Palace, it constitutes one of the most important buildings designed by Jacob van Campen, the most famous architect of his time. Count Johan Maurits van Nassau-Siegen (1604-1679) commissioned him and his assistant Pieter Post to build the house which now bears his name, the current Mauritshuis.
The thematic exhibition highlights the many facets of the Mauritshuis. Drawings, paintings and prints tell the story of the development of the property, the fire of 1704, the first museum lay-out of 1822, and the current construction project, which has brought the museum fully up-to-date.