National Trust

Dyrham Park

Nestled among the rolling, wooded hills near Bath is Dyrham Park, famous for its deer. The country house was built around 1700 for William Blathwayt and Mary Wynter.

Blathwayt had lived in The Hague for a few years as secretary to the British Ambassador, and he later worked for the Stadholder-King William III. He developed an affinity for the Dutch Republic as a result and there were many Dutch artworks at Dyrham – not only paintings, but cabinets and Delftware too. And a library containing Dutch books.

When the National Trust took on Dyrham Park in 1956, little of the collection remained and the house had lost many of its original furnishings. The Trust was able to buy back the two paintings by De Baen and De Heem for Dyrham Park.

From this house you will see the following works in the Mauritshuis:

  • Jan de Baen (attributed to) - William III, as Prince of Orange (1650-1702)(c.1665-1670)
  • Cornelis de Heem - A Still Life of Flowers and Fruit arranged on a Stone Plinth in Garden (c.1685)