All information page results


All collection results
Outdated Browser Detected

Our website has detected that you are using an outdated browser. Using your current browser will prevent you from accessing features on our website. An upgrade is not required, but is strongly recommended to improve your browsing experience on our website.


Who we are


We share the best of Dutch Golden Age painting in our house.


The staff of the Mauritshuis consists of more about 70 people working in the Collections, Education, Development, Facilities Management, Finance and Marketing departments. The Mauritshuis is managed by two directors: Emilie Gordenker and Sander Uitdenbogaard. The management answers to the Supervisory Board.

The Mauritshuis was a state museum until 1995, at which point it became independent. The organisation established to this end, the Foundation Royal Picture Gallery of Mauritshuis, is responsible for managing the building and the collection. The management and operations of the Prince William V Gallery are also under the aegis of the Mauritshuis. Please see the annual report for more information on the organisation.


Emilie Gordenker, director of the Mauritshuis

Dr. Emilie E.S. Gordenker
Director of the Mauritshuis

Emilie Gordenker (born 1965, Princeton, New Jersey, United States) has been director of the Mauritshuis since 1 January 2008. 

Emilie was awarded her doctorate in 1998 by the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University. Her thesis, Van Dyck and the Representation of Dress in Seventeenth-Century Portraiture, was published in 2001 by Brepols Publishers, Turnhout, Belgium. During her time in New York, she worked for the Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Frick Collection and the Netherlands Institute for Art History, and lectured at Rutgers University, New York University, Vassar College and the Bard Graduate Center for Decorative Arts.

From 1999 to 2003, Emilie worked in London for companies in the domain of new media while also continuing to publish on her specialism and related subjects. In December 2003, she was named Senior Curator of Early Netherlandish, Dutch and Flemish Art at the Scottish National Gallery in Edinburgh. In January 2008, she was appointed director of the Mauritshuis.

Sander Uitdenbogaard
Director of Finance & Operations of the Mauritshuis

Sander Uitdenbogaard (1967) is Director of Finance & Operations of the Mauritshuis since 1 January 2017. 

During his time as Director at Panorama Mesdag in The Hague he supervised the completion of the renovations and the reopening of the museum. He was also responsible for repositioning the museum and was the driving force behind the highly successful Mesdag Year in 2015. His career to date includes a deputy directorship at the Museum for Realism and, prior to that, various management and board positions in the financial sector. 

Renée Jongejan
Head of Operations and Finance (interim)

Renée Jongejan (1964) has been affiliated with the Mauritshuis since January 9, 2019 as Head of Operations and Finance (interim).

Renée has more than twenty years of experience in the cultural sector, in particular in the field of management/organisation, marketing and communication, fundraising as well as other strategic projects. She was recently Deputy Director at the Frans Hals Museum and Director at Slot Zuylen, as an interim officer. She previously worked at the Appel Arts Center Amsterdam (Business Leader), Toneelgroep Amsterdam (Head of Marketing & Publicity) and the Netherlands Maritime Museum Amsterdam (Communication Manager & Program Coordinator and Policy Officer). She has completed courses in cultural management at the Erasmus University and Amsterdam School of the Arts, and is currently studying business administration.



Supervisory Board

E.M.L. Moerel (chairman)
R. Lelieveld (quaestor)
A. Kasem
T. Vellenga
M.S. Sellink